The Ultimate Guide to Pokemon Card Set Symbols

Unsure what set your Pokémon card belongs to? 

You’re in the right place!

Below are the Pokemon Set Symbols for every major release since 1999! 

For newer collectors, symbols are usually found in the bottom right corner of each Pokémon card.

I hope you find this guide useful, and be sure to bookmark it for future reference 🙂

Sword & Shield Series: 2020 to Present

Set Year Symbol
Brilliant Stars 2022 pokemon-brilliant-stars-set-symbol
Fusion Strike 2021 pokemon-fusion-strike-set-symbol
Chilling Reign 2021 pokemon-chilling-reign-set-symbol
Battle Styles 2021 pokemon-battle-styles-set-symbol
Shining Fates 2021 pokemon-shining-fates-set-symbol
Vivid Voltage 2020 pokemon-vivid-voltage-set-symbol
Champion's Path 2020 pokemon-champions-path-set-symbol
Darkness Ablaze 2020 pokemon-darkness-ablaze-set-symbol
Rebel Clash 2020 pokemon-Rebel-Clash-set-symbol
Sword & Shield Base 2020 pokemon-sword-shield-set-symbol

Sun & Moon Series: 2017 – 2019

Set Year Symbol
Cosmic Eclipse 2019 pokemon-cosmic-eclipse-set-symbol
Hidden Fates 2019 pokemon-hidden-fates-set-symbol
Unified Minds 2019 pokemon-unified-minds-set-symbol
Unbroken Bonds 2019 pokemon-unbroken-bonds-set-symbol
Detective Pikachu 2019 pokemon-detective-pikachu-set-symbol
Team Up 2019 pokemon-team-up-set-symbol
Lost Thunder 2018 pokemon-lost-thunder-set-symbol
Dragon Majesty 2018 pokemon-dragon-majesty-set-symbol
Celestial Storm 2018 pokemon-celestial-storm-set-symbol
Forbidden Light 2018 pokemon-forbidden-light-set-symbol
Ultra Prism 2018 pokemon-ultra-prism-set-symbol
Crimson Invasion 2017 pokemon-crimson-invasion-set-symbol
Shining Legends 2017 pokemon-shining-legends-set-symbol
Burning Shadows 2017 pokemon-burning-shadows-set-symbol
Guardians Rising 2017 pokemon-guardians-rising-set-symbol
Sun & Moon Base 2017 pokemon-sun-and-moon-base-set-symbol

XY Series: 2014 – 2016

Set Year Symbol
Evolutions 2016 pokemon-xy-evolutions-set-symbol
Steam Siege 2016 pokemon-xy-steam-siege-set-symbol
Fates Collide 2016 pokemon-xy-fates-collide-set-symbol
Generations 2016 pokemon-generations-set-symbol
Breakpoint 2016 pokemon-xy-BREAKpoint-set-symbol
Breakthrough 2015 pokemon-xy-BREAKthrough-set-symbol
Ancient Origins 2015 pokemon-xy-ancient-origins-set-symbol
Roaring Skies 2015 pokemon-xy-roaring-skies-set-symbol
Double Crisis 2015 pokemon-xy-double-crisis-set-symbol
Primal Clash 2015 pokemon-xy-primal-clash-set-symbol
Phantom Forces 2014 pokemon-xy-phantom-forces-set-symbol
Furious Fists 2014 pokemon-xy-furious-fists-set-symbol
Flashfire 2014 pokemon-xy-flashfire-set-symbol
XY Base 2014 pokemon-xy-set-symbol

Black & White Series: 2011 – 2013

Set Year Symbol
Legendary Treasures 2013 pokemon-black-and-white-legendary-treasures-set-symbol
Plasma Blast 2013 pokemon-black-and-white-plasma-blast-set-symbol
Plasma Freeze 2013 pokemon-black-and-white-plasma-freeze-set-symbol
Plasma Storm 2012 pokemon-black-and-white-plasma-storm-set-symbol
Boundaries Crossed 2012 pokemon-black-and-white-boundaries-crossed-set-symbol
Dragon Vault 2012 pokemon-black-and-white-dragon-vault-set-symbol
Dragons Exalted 2012 pokemon-black-and-white-dragons-exalted-set-symbol
Dark Explorers 2012 pokemon-black-and-white-dark-explorers-set-symbol
Next Destinies 2012 pokemon-black-and-white-next-destinies-set-symbol
Noble Victories 2011 pokemon-black-and-white-noble-victories-set-symbol
Emerging Powers 2011 pokemon-black-and-white-emerging-powers-set-symbol
Black & White Base 2011 pokemon-black-and-white-set-symbol

HeartGold & SoulSilver Series: 2010 – 2011

Set Year Symbol
Call of Legends 2011 pokemon-call-of-legends-set-symbol
Triumphant 2010 pokemon-heartgold-and-soulsilver-triumphant-set-symbol
Undaunted 2010 pokemon-heartgold-and-soulsilver-undaunted-set-symbol
Unleashed 2010 pokemon-heartgold-and-soulsilver-unleashed-set-symbol
HeartGold and SoulSilver 2010 pokemon-heartGold-and-soulSilver-set-symbol

Platinum Series: 2009

Set Year Symbol
Arceus 2009 pokemon-arceus-set-symbol
Supreme Victors 2009 pokemon-supreme-victors-set-symbol
Rising Rivals 2009 pokemon-rising-rivals-set-symbol
POP Series 9 2009 pokemon-pop-series-9-set-symbol
Platinum Base 2009 pokemon-platinum-base-set-set-symbol

Diamond & Pearl Series: 2007 – 2008

Set Year Symbol
POP Series 8 2008 pokemon-pop-series-8-set-symbol
Stormfront 2008 pokemon-stormfront-set-symbol
Legends Awakened 2008 pokemon-legends-awakened-set-symbol
Majestic Dawn 2008 pokemon-majestic-dawn-set-symbol
POP Series 7 2008 pokemon-pop-series-7-set-symbol
Great Encounters 2008 pokemon-great-encounters-set-symbol
Secret Wonders 2007 pokemon-secret-wonders-set-symbol
POP Series 6 2007 pokemon-pop-series-6-set-symbol
Mysterious Treasures 2007 pokemon-mysterious-treasures-set-symbol
Diamond & Pearl 2007 pokemon-diamond-and-pearl-set-symbol

EX Series: 2003 – 2007

Set Year Symbol
POP Series 5 2007 pokemon-pop-series-5-set-symbol
Powers Keepers 2007 pokemon-ex-power-keepers-set-symbol
Dragon Frontiers 2006 pokemon-ex-dragon-frontiers-set-symbol
Crystal Guardians 2006 pokemon-ex-crystal-guardians-set-symbol
POP Series 4 2006 pokemon-pop-series-4-set-symbol
Holon Phantoms 2006 pokemon-ex-holon-phantoms-set-symbol
POP Series 3 2006 pokemon-pop-series-3-set-symbol
Legend Maker 2006 pokemon-ex-legend-maker-set-symbol
Delta Species 2006 pokemon-ex-delta-species-set-symbol
Unseen Forces 2006 pokemon-ex-unseen-forces-set-symbol
POP Series 2 2006 pokemon-pop-series-2-set-symbol
Emerald 2006 pokemon-ex-emerald-set-symbol
Deoxys 2006 pokemon-ex-deoxys-set-symbol
Team Rocket Returns 2004 pokemon-ex-team-rocket-returns-set-symbol
POP Series 1 2004 pokemon-pop-series-1-set-symbol
Fire Read and Leaf Green 2004 pokemon-ex-fire-red-and-leaf-green-set-symbol
Hidden Legends 2004 pokemon-ex-hidden-legends-set-symbol
Team Magma vs Team Aqua 2004 pokemon-ex-team-magma-vs-team-aqua-set-symbol
Dragon 2003 pokemon-ex-dragon-set-symbol
Sandstorm 2003 pokemon-ex-sandstorm-set-symbol
Ruby and Sapphire 2003 pokemon-ex-ruby-and-sapphire-set-symbol

e-Card Series: 2002 – 2003

Set Year Symbol
Skyridge 2003 pokemon-skyridge-set-symbol
Aquapolis 2003 pokemon-aquapolis-set-symbol
Expedition 2002 pokemon-expedition-base-set-set-symbol

Legendary Collection Series: 2002

Set Year Symbol
Legendary Collection 2002 pokemon-legendary-collection-set-symbol

Neo Series: 2000 – 2002

Set Year Symbol
Neo Destiny 2002 pokemon-neo-destiny-set-symbol
Neo Revelation 2001 pokemon-neo-revelation-set-symbol
Southern Islands 2001 pokemon-southern-islands-set-symbol
Neo Discovery 2001 pokemon-neo-discovery-set-symbol
Neo Genesis 2000 pokemon-neo-genesis-set-symbol

Gym Series: 2000

Set Year Symbol
Gym Challenge 2000 pokemon-gym-challenge-set-symbol
Gym Heroes 2000 pokemon-gym-heroes-set-symbol

Original Series: 1999 – 2000

Set Year Symbol
Team Rocket 2000 pokemon-team-rocket-set-symbol
Base Set 2 2000 pokemon-base-set-2-set-symbol
Fossil 2000 pokemon-fossil-set-symbol
Wizards Black Star Promos 1999-2003 pokemon-wizards-black-star-promos-set-symbol
Jungle 1999 pokemon-jungle-set-symbol
Base Set 1999 No Symbol

Pokemon Card Set Symbol FAQs

What do the symbols mean on Pokémon cards?

There are multiple symbols on Pokemon cards. There are symbols that show which set a card is from (like above). There are also symbols which show rarity; typically found at the bottom of the card. And you may also find additional symbols, for example, that show a card is ‘1st Edition‘. 

What symbol means rare on Pokémon cards?

Rare cards will have a star symbol on them. Typically, there is only one rare Pokémon card per pack. However, for packs that contains reverse holo cards, there is also the chance to pull an additional rare card.

A diamond symbol means the card is ‘uncommon’, and circle means ‘common’.

It’s also worth noting that there are different layers of rarity when it comes to Pokemon cards. Certain cards, such as ‘secret rares’ may only have one per booster box, meaning they are hard to pull and considerably rarer. 

 

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4.4 / 5. Vote count: 20

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

4.4
Scroll to Top